Book Reviews, CBR- Manhattan, Misc

Book Review: The Cottingley Secret by Hazel Gaynor

In the midst of war, two young girls find mystery and magic that will come to shake the world. The Cottingley Secret, as the name hints, is a tale about the two young girls of Cottingley who photographer fairies on summer in the middle of the Great War. This story is actually two in one.… Read More Book Review: The Cottingley Secret by Hazel Gaynor

Book Reviews, CBR- Manhattan, City Book Reviews, Misc

Book Review: Hybrid by James Marshall Smith

Hybrid is a taut, suspenseful tale of vengeance, deceit, and man’s folly in believing humanity is top of the food chain. In the vein of Jurassic Park, Fatalis, and Sabretooth, Smith’s Hybrid is a story of man vs nature, with man’s folly as the catalyst. This terrible hybrid exists because some foolish dog-fighter released a… Read More Book Review: Hybrid by James Marshall Smith

Book Reviews, Misc, XPresso Tours

Book Review: Murder on the Lake of Fire by Mikel J Wilson

After a mysterious inferno claims the life of a young up-and-coming ice skater, TBI special agent Emory Rome is called back to the tiny mountain town of his childhood. Looking for a murderer, Emory may just find himself instead. Britt Algarotti works up the courage to try going back out on the ice after a… Read More Book Review: Murder on the Lake of Fire by Mikel J Wilson

Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley

Book Review: Flame in the Dark by Faith Hunter

Flame in the Dark returns to the darkly magical realm of Soulwood, pitting Nell Ingram and the PsyLED team against an unknown paranormal with deadly intentions. A vicious killer out for blood, and a young woman still feeling out her place and purpose in life, cross paths in Faith Hunter’s fast-paced urban fantasy Flame in… Read More Book Review: Flame in the Dark by Faith Hunter

Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley

Book Review: Manga Classics: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas & Crystal Chan

Rating: 📚📚📚📚📚 The Count of Monte Cristo is a brilliant, dark tale of retribution, and the price of vengeance on all parties involved. This story has all the intense drama and tragedy I am familiar with from other of Dumas’ works. Edmond Dantes, falsely imprisoned on the very day of his engagement, is abandoned in… Read More Book Review: Manga Classics: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas & Crystal Chan

Book Reviews, CBR- Manhattan, City Book Reviews, Misc

Book Review: The Boy in the Suitcase by NV Baker

***This book was reviewed for Manhattan Book Review The Boy in the Suitcase is a fast-paced crime thriller with a ticking clock. The first in N V Baker’s Concealing Seas Series, this book introduces us to Magdalena, a middle-aged woman trying to find her place in life, and move past a rough breakup. A cruise… Read More Book Review: The Boy in the Suitcase by NV Baker

Book Reviews, CBR- San Francisco, CBR- Seattle, City Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley

Book Review: Age of Swords by Michael J Sullivan

**The book was reviewed for the San Francisco and Seattle Book Reviews Age of Swords is second in Michael J Sullivan’s Legends of the First Empire series. War continues to loom between Fhrey and Rhune. A vicious attack leaves those of Dahl Rhen without a home, and more determined than ever to shake free of… Read More Book Review: Age of Swords by Michael J Sullivan

Audible, Book Reviews, Misc

Book Review: (Audiobook) I Bring the Fire: Wolves by C Gockel/ Barrie Kreinik (narrator)

***This book was for my own enjoyment. Amy and her mangy mutt Fenrir are on their way to her aunt Beatrice’s house for the summer when an accident leaves her in the hands of a deranged killer. A terrified plea brings the (accidental) assistance of the most unlikely of gods- Loki. A magical accident has… Read More Book Review: (Audiobook) I Bring the Fire: Wolves by C Gockel/ Barrie Kreinik (narrator)

Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley

Book Review: Manga Classics/ The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling & Crystal S Chan

***This book was reviewed for Udon Entertainment The Manga Classics version of Kipling’s The Jungle Book brought to life beloved childhood stories, and introduced me to a few I was unfamiliar with. There are seven ‘books’, three of which centre around Mowgli, the wolf boy, and his rivalry with Shere Khan the tiger. The remaining… Read More Book Review: Manga Classics/ The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling & Crystal S Chan

Book Reviews, Misc

Book Review: HEX by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

***This book was read for my own enjoyment Heuvelt’s HEX is a brilliant tale of the dark emotions that rule men’s hearts, and the devastation those emotions can wreak upon society. Black Springs is a town with a secret, a conspiracy so entrenched and so horrific that Outsiders are dissuaded from moving into the quaint… Read More Book Review: HEX by Thomas Olde Heuvelt