Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley

Book Review: Become the Force by Daniel M Jones

Become the Force by Daniel M Jones is a guidepost to the spiritual movement of Jediism. In a world where it is becoming increasingly difficult to find spiritual succour, many are beginning to turn to new ways of finding what they need to nourish their souls. For some, like Jones, this is Jediism, a spirituality… Read More Book Review: Become the Force by Daniel M Jones

Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley

Book Review: Catakism by Jeff Lazarus

As the frontpage says, Catakism is a ‘humorous purr-spective on humanity’s obsession with cats. Catakism is defined as a) the deep and reverent belief in Cat as master, guru, mentor, sage, and ridiculous ball of cuteness and b) the devotional beliefs and rituals practised by Catakists. This book is chock-full of adorable cat pics and… Read More Book Review: Catakism by Jeff Lazarus

Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley

Book Review: His Royal Whiskers by Sam Gayton

*****Intended for older children. His Royal Whiskers is a darkly whimsical fairy-tale worthy of the Brothers Grimm themselves. When an alchemy experiment goes wrong, turning the heir to the Petrossian Empire into a fluffy kitten, the bloodthirsty Czar is enraged. How can his son conquer anything as a cute fluffy kitten. And so, the accidental… Read More Book Review: His Royal Whiskers by Sam Gayton

Book Reviews, CBR- Manhattan, Misc

Book Review: The Cottingley Secret by Hazel Gaynor

In the midst of war, two young girls find mystery and magic that will come to shake the world. The Cottingley Secret, as the name hints, is a tale about the two young girls of Cottingley who photographer fairies on summer in the middle of the Great War. This story is actually two in one.… Read More Book Review: The Cottingley Secret by Hazel Gaynor

Book Reviews, CBR- Manhattan, City Book Reviews, Misc

Book Review: Hybrid by James Marshall Smith

Hybrid is a taut, suspenseful tale of vengeance, deceit, and man’s folly in believing humanity is top of the food chain. In the vein of Jurassic Park, Fatalis, and Sabretooth, Smith’s Hybrid is a story of man vs nature, with man’s folly as the catalyst. This terrible hybrid exists because some foolish dog-fighter released a… Read More Book Review: Hybrid by James Marshall Smith

Book Reviews, Misc, XPresso Tours

Book Review: Murder on the Lake of Fire by Mikel J Wilson

After a mysterious inferno claims the life of a young up-and-coming ice skater, TBI special agent Emory Rome is called back to the tiny mountain town of his childhood. Looking for a murderer, Emory may just find himself instead. Britt Algarotti works up the courage to try going back out on the ice after a… Read More Book Review: Murder on the Lake of Fire by Mikel J Wilson

Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley, Quickshot

Quickshots # 3

Creature Files: Dinosaurs by LJ Tracosas Take a journey through time and meet some of the fiercest beasties to ever walk, swim, or fly on earth. From the fearsome ‘tyrant king’ to the lumbering ‘heavy lizard’, LJ Tracosas introduces the reader to twenty different creatures from the Age of Dinosaurs. Spanning the Triassic to the… Read More Quickshots # 3

Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley

Book Review: Flame in the Dark by Faith Hunter

Flame in the Dark returns to the darkly magical realm of Soulwood, pitting Nell Ingram and the PsyLED team against an unknown paranormal with deadly intentions. A vicious killer out for blood, and a young woman still feeling out her place and purpose in life, cross paths in Faith Hunter’s fast-paced urban fantasy Flame in… Read More Book Review: Flame in the Dark by Faith Hunter

Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley

Book Review: Manga Classics: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas & Crystal Chan

Rating: 📚📚📚📚📚 The Count of Monte Cristo is a brilliant, dark tale of retribution, and the price of vengeance on all parties involved. This story has all the intense drama and tragedy I am familiar with from other of Dumas’ works. Edmond Dantes, falsely imprisoned on the very day of his engagement, is abandoned in… Read More Book Review: Manga Classics: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas & Crystal Chan