Guest Post, Misc, Netgalley, Shout Out, Spotlight

Flame in the Dark by Faith Hunter

Flame In The Dark
by Faith Hunter
Ace Mass Market Original
$7.99 / 368 pages
December 5, 2017  

Praise for the Soulwood Series

“Vivid storytelling, intricate plot, and high-stakes tension.”
—RT Book Reviews

“Incredible world-building, complex, multi-faceted characters, and fast-moving plot create a book that begs to be devoured in one sitting.”
Romance Junkies

 

Nell Ingram uses her innate magical abilities to work with an agency policing paranormals in this stunning series set in the same world as the Jane Yellowrock novels.

This urban fantasy tense with action and a truly compelling heroine on the brink of discovering how to wield her earthly power is perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris, Kelly Armstrong and Kim Harrison. Imaginative and rich, Flame In The Dark will be a hard-to-miss title this fall! 

Nell Ingram has always known she was different. Since she was a child, she’s been able to feel, and channel, ancient powers from deep within the earth. When she met Jane Yellowrock, her entire life changed in ways she could never imagine, as she was recruited into PsyLed–the Homeland Security division that polices paranormals.

After a powerful senator barely survives an assassination attempt that leaves countless others dead in the assassin’s wake, Nell’s newly formed team is tasked with tracking a killer they know is more–or likely less–than human, unraveling a web of dark intrigue in its wake.

 

Faith Hunter is the New York Times bestselling author of the Jane Yellowrock Series, including Cold Reign, Shadow Rites, Dark Heir, and Broken Soul; the Soulwood Series, set in the world of Jane Yellowrock, including Curse on the Land and Blood of the Earth; and the Rogue Mage Series, including Host, Seraphs, and Bloodring.

 

CHINESE PORTRAIT with NELL INGRAM – 2017

What if you were…

  1. If you were a weapon?

Nell: I hate to say it. I hate that it’s true, but I am a weapon. I can feed the land, feed the EARTH with the blood of my enemies. I can heal the trees of the forest with the soul of an attacker. I look like a country girl, a farmer’s daughter, when I sell my veggies and my jams and my homemade bread at a country market, but I am something primeval and dangerous and I can kill with my bare hands. Beware.

 

  1. If you were a poem?

Nell: Poem? How about Shakespeare? I read a lot of Will. Hmmm… Henry IV —

“The fire-eyed maid of smoky war
All hot and bleeding will we offer them.”
Act IV, scene 1, line 114.

Match that with:
“That I may truly say with the hook-nosed fellow of Rome, I came, I saw, and overcame.”

 

  1. If you were a tree?

Nell: Oh. You’uns bein’ all silly now. An oak with thorns of course. Oh… Wait. Oh dear.

 

  1. If you were a movie?

Nell: I haven’t watched a lot of movies. God’s Cloud of Glory Church doesn’t let the womenfolk watch movies. But since joining PsyLED, I watched the entire Star Wars series, I’d like to think I’ll stay on the Light Side and do good.

 

  1. If you were a car or a truck?

Nell: Okay, so this is gonna be different. I know a sport car is what most characters answer. Or a motorbike. Jane Yellowrock rides a bastardized Harley panhead and that’s really cool and sexy, right? I’d be a John Deere tractor. Specifically one of the specialty tractors that can be customized with a high-profile wheel base, low-clearance-cab, and power reverser transmission. Ummm. I kinda like tractors.

 

  1. If you could be any supernatural creature in the world, would you still be a … whatever you are?

Nell: Oh. Wow. Yes.  (slow, spreading smile) Yes, I would. I’d still want to be me.

 

  1. If you were a book?

Nell: (Looks back at this Q&A. Worries. Shakes head. Sighs.) That’s a dangerous question. If I pick one I’m not in, will I disappear? (Looks at writer) Would I?

Writer: You could always go for Will.

Nell: That is brilliant. Macbeth. Totally Macbeth!

 

  1. If you were a personage of fiction?

Nell: You do understand how weird that is to ask me, right? I have a writer. It isn’t like I’m really real. But…hmmm. Portia in the Merchant of Venice. Powerful. Wise. I like her.

Faith

Leave a Reply