Blog Tour, Book Reviews, Misc, Silver Dagger

Book Review: A Wild & Unremarkable Thing by Jen Castleberry

One from a background of privilege, one poorest of the poor, two young people set out to make their fortunes slaying a Fire Scale. Every fifteen years, the great flame-scaled dragons emerge for a brief time to mate and eat, before sealing themselves back into their lairs among the Summer Alps. During the last Emerging,… Read More Book Review: A Wild & Unremarkable Thing by Jen Castleberry

Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley

Book Review: Become the Force by Daniel M Jones

Become the Force by Daniel M Jones is a guidepost to the spiritual movement of Jediism. In a world where it is becoming increasingly difficult to find spiritual succour, many are beginning to turn to new ways of finding what they need to nourish their souls. For some, like Jones, this is Jediism, a spirituality… Read More Book Review: Become the Force by Daniel M Jones

Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley

Book Review: Catakism by Jeff Lazarus

As the frontpage says, Catakism is a ‘humorous purr-spective on humanity’s obsession with cats. Catakism is defined as a) the deep and reverent belief in Cat as master, guru, mentor, sage, and ridiculous ball of cuteness and b) the devotional beliefs and rituals practised by Catakists. This book is chock-full of adorable cat pics and… Read More Book Review: Catakism by Jeff Lazarus

Book Reviews, Misc, Netgalley

Book Review: His Royal Whiskers by Sam Gayton

*****Intended for older children. His Royal Whiskers is a darkly whimsical fairy-tale worthy of the Brothers Grimm themselves. When an alchemy experiment goes wrong, turning the heir to the Petrossian Empire into a fluffy kitten, the bloodthirsty Czar is enraged. How can his son conquer anything as a cute fluffy kitten. And so, the accidental… Read More Book Review: His Royal Whiskers by Sam Gayton

Book Reviews, CBR- Manhattan, Misc

Book Review: The Cottingley Secret by Hazel Gaynor

In the midst of war, two young girls find mystery and magic that will come to shake the world. The Cottingley Secret, as the name hints, is a tale about the two young girls of Cottingley who photographer fairies on summer in the middle of the Great War. This story is actually two in one.… Read More Book Review: The Cottingley Secret by Hazel Gaynor

Book Reviews, Misc

Book Review: Quackery by Lydia Kang & Nate Pedersen

Quackery is a tour through the most unusual, wacky, and downright bizarre medications, tinctures, and medical tricks used down the years. Odd as most may seem, many of these were the paving stones along the road to medical innovation. There are five different sections looking at the various tools, tinctures, bizarre animal-based cures and tricks… Read More Book Review: Quackery by Lydia Kang & Nate Pedersen

Blog Tour, Book Reviews, Chapter by Chapter, Misc

Book Review: Sea of Strangers by Erica Cameron

Sea of Strangers continues Erica Cameron’s captivating Ryogan Chronicles, as Khya and company search for the legendary Kaisubeh. Having travelled to Ryogo, former home of the exiled Miriseh, Khya and her companions seek to learn Varan’s secrets in hopes of defeating him and freeing Yorri. But navigating Ryogo isn’t so easy. Though their efforts will… Read More Book Review: Sea of Strangers by Erica Cameron

Blog Tour, Book Reviews, Chapter by Chapter, Misc

Book Review: Island of Exiles by Erica Cameron

Cameron’s Island of Exiles is a fast-paced tale of one sister’s love and loyalty against all odds. Itagami, on the island of Shiara, is home to the Miriseh, and the people they protect. When early storms begin wracking the city, and neighboring clans encroach into Itagamin territory, life becomes increasingly difficult. One such encounter claims… Read More Book Review: Island of Exiles by Erica Cameron

Book Reviews, CBR- Manhattan, City Book Reviews, Misc

Book Review: Hybrid by James Marshall Smith

Hybrid is a taut, suspenseful tale of vengeance, deceit, and man’s folly in believing humanity is top of the food chain. In the vein of Jurassic Park, Fatalis, and Sabretooth, Smith’s Hybrid is a story of man vs nature, with man’s folly as the catalyst. This terrible hybrid exists because some foolish dog-fighter released a… Read More Book Review: Hybrid by James Marshall Smith