Author Interviews

Book Review: Broken Souls by Stephen Blackmoore

 

I purchased a copy of this book for my own enjoyment, with no expectation of a review

 

Broken Souls is the second in Blackmoore’s Eric Carter series. Sarcastic trouble-magnet Carter is still working to find a way free of Santa Muerte’s influence. A meeting with a mage named Kettleman turns sour when the man tries to kill Carter. Kettleman’s solution to freeing Eric is a bit more permanent than our erstwhile necromancer would like. Except it isn’t really Kettleman, but a man wearing a Kettleman skin suit (ew), and he’s keen on adding a Eric suit to his collection.

 

In the middle of trying to find the man hell-bent on wearing his skin, and working to free himself from Santa Muerte’s influence, Eric is left to wonder if he’s losing his mind when he begins seeing his dead friend Alex, who appears occasionally to provide assistance. Now, Eric’s used to seeing the dead, but to him, Alex doesn’t feel like a ghost, or other form of the dead. Nothing could prepare him for the truth behind Alex’s presence in his life.

 

I love this urban fantasy series! Nothing like a wise-cracking, sarcastic anti-hero to make for interesting reading. I appreciate the weaving in of Aztec/Toltec myth and legend. Too often, when books use mythological aspects, it is of a Greco-Roman flavour, or occasionally Celtic or Norse myth. Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against those mythic traditions, but sometimes different can be very good, and prompt the reader to do more investigation on their own into the culture and mythology. There were unexpected revelations at the end that turned everything upside down. I can’t wait to read the next Eric Carter book!
🎻🎻🎻🎻🎻 Highly recommended, especially for fans of Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid series and Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files series.

Leave a Reply